Ugly Kid Joe

Vocals: Whitfield Crane
Guitar: Klaus Eichstadt
Guitar: Dave Fortman
Guitar: Sonny Mayo
Bass: Cordell Crockett
Drums: Zac Morris
Drums: Shannon Larkin



Musikalisch vereint sie Hardrock, Heavy Metal und Funk. Bekannt wurden Ugly Kid Joe einem breiteren Publikum in Deutschland hauptsächlich durch die Hit-Singles Everything About You und Cats in the Cradle, einer Cover-Version des Songs von Harry Chapin.

Der Name der Band ist eine Anspielung auf die in den 80ern recht erfolgreiche Glam-Metal-Band Pretty Boy Floyd. Man kam auf den Namen, da ein gemeinsamer Auftritt mit jener Band geplant war, der von Pretty Boy Floyd jedoch abgesagt wurde. Eigentlich wollte man den Namen nur für diesen einen Auftritt annehmen, um die Unterschiedlichkeit der beiden Bands zu betonen, jedoch behielt man ihn bei.




After a 19-year hiatus, Ugly Kid Joe return with a brand new, full-length album entitled “Uglier Than They Used Ta Be”.

The album was recorded at Balance Studios in Covington, Louisiana under the helm of Dave Fortman (Slipknot, Godsmack, Evanescence) and featured a 7-member line up of Ugly Kid Joe – the “Seven Headed Monster”.

The chemistry flows so well throughout this new release, it's as though they never left. ‘Uglier Than They Used Ta Be’ boasts a collection of well-crafted rock tunes, from the riff driven ‘Let The Record Play’ to the hard-hitting ‘Hell Aint Hard to Find’.

It truly is a collection of some of the best songs ever written by the band which is highlighted with tracks such as ‘Under The Bottom’ and the emotionally driven ‘Enemy’.

Whitfield Crane (Vocals) and Klaus Eichstadt (Guitars) teamed up with Sonny Mayo (Guitars), Shannon Larkin (Drums), Zac Morris (Drums), Cordell Crockett (Bass) and Dave Fortman (Guitars) to write and record in the studio. The result is the most cohesive sounding Ugly Kid Joe record to date.

“It's a full circle of sorts,” says UKJ frontman Whitfield Crane “there was a lot of love and talent in one room and that is exactly what this album sounds like.”

The album also includes a cover of the Motörhead classic “Ace of Spades”, which features Motörhead guitarist Phil Campbell. Phil also appears on the tracks ‘My Old Man’ and ‘Under The Bottom’


Ugly Kid Joe - Stairway to hell (MV0040), 04.10.2013



Ugly Kid Joe - Uglier than they used ta be (MV0086), 18.09.2015